MMMAKA MAKA

Let’s get this party started with something that’s always a good idea.

Nothing can beat a filthy, juicy, food-all-over-the-face-kind-of-burger. I still get fascinated by the fact that each and every one of the burgers I’ve had in my life – NONE of them have tasted the same. Let’s face it; you take a bun, some lettuce, tomato, onion and a patty of beef and you stack that baby up. It’s the naked truth.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I don’t really fancy the most crowded, touristy-located places, but The Man and I decided to give MAKA MAKA a go the first time we visited Barcelona, after a friend of mine recommended it. I may want to add that she’s crazy cool, so I guess our subconscious automatically expected the place had to be as well. It was.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It’s a pretty small venue, but in case you forgot, you’re in Barcelona and the sun is 99% guaranteed to shine. You should sit outside and absorb the Barceloneta air and feel the sunbeams tingle your skin.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

You think you know what to expect when ordering a classic burger. You’re not expecting any surprises, I mean, it’s a burger. You do have an idea of what’s to come. Well – say hello to the star of the show: the Topless burger at MAKA MAKA. I am not lying when I say that this burger is top three of the best burgers I’ve ever had.

The Topless consists of what I rattled off a few lines up, but your taste buds won’t get it. Every layer of the burger is so single, but at the same time they’re all having the most amazing, really romantic relationship. They’re perfect for each other. The bun has a thin, crisp shell with a soft and airy core – just enough to keep the burger’s content together. The patty is coarse, perfectly pink inside and full of flavor. It’s super tender and falls slightly apart as you eat your way in. The veggies make you want to re-think what you are buying at the grocery store back home. They are so fresh, organic and natural.

By the looks it seems super simple, right? But as soon as you’ve carved your way in, you will understand that it’s true what they say – it’s what’s on the inside that counts.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I almost forgot, while drooling all over the keyboard, let’s NOT forget about the fries. They come as two different kinds; the basic ones (who likes being basic?) and the parmesan AND garlic parsley doused ones. Served with wasabi mayo and ketchup.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Cava Sangria – which I think is generally way better then basic sangria (again, who likes being basic?!), is mighty good. The bubbles make you happy go lucky and if you think about it, we all need a little more happy in our lives. We never have just one pitcher. Never.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So, whenever your in Barcelona, you will have no choice but to visit this honey. And if you don’t agree with what I just told you, you’re just not as awesome and burger-loving as I thought.