margaritas y tacos

When visiting Barcelona, you probably do a lot of walking. There’s a lot to see! Also, after hours of walking, you probably will get hungry. I don’t know about you, but when I have walked around hungry and thirsty for some time, I get angry. Hence, hangry. And you aren’t too happy about searching for the perfect place to fuel up. You just want something to get your blood sugar up to date – now.

I often find my self in these kind of situations, and this time I was lucky. So was my boyfriend who didn’t have to put up with hangry Elise, as he often has to.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

In Raval there is this cutie of a Mexican place named Rosa del Raval. I’m often a bit skeptical to Mexican restaurants, because it can either be really good – or really, really bad. Maybe I was extra skeptic this time, because I’ve had really, really bad Mexican food in Barca before.

But hangry as I was, I gave it a go.

First thing that eased my dramatical change of mood, was their 3,50€ frozen margaritas. I mean, if the food isn’t that great, I’ll just throw back a few frozen ones.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We decided to go with a sample platter and a plate with four different tacos.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The tacos were the first victims to be ingested. M-m-m. Pulled pork, grilled beef, stewed beef and chicken. They were super tasty and the pickled red onions on top really gave the tacos an extra kick. I’ve never thought of adding that to a Mexican dish. Perfect type of food that you can shovel in your face.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

40% less hangry, the plate with assorted “chalupas” landed at our table. Kind of like canapés. They had very similar fillings and toppings as the tacos, but who’s complaining? With a huge batch of fresh, home made guacamole in the middle, it was all good.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A few more frozen Maggies and some sangria, we gathered back our energy and were our old selves again. We decided to go back for brunch the next day, as they have their own brunch menu (hello breakfast burrito), but it got kind of late that night so we didn’t make it. But next time! Next time we will, for sure.